Skip to content

The End and a New Beginning…

April 1, 2009

end-and-beginning

This is my last post for this blog assignment, the end of a very ‘assignmentful’ (please pardon the English here) second semester. As is my usual practice, it is time to take stock not just for this module, but for course as such and my own assessment of what I have learnt.

 Let me try and put this in the form of the basic ‘H’ and the 4 ‘Ws’.

How? Through a mixture of lectures, seminars, role plays, case studies, group exercises and practical assignments. We now have a portfolio of work we can showcase to the world! I enjoyed the case studies and practical assignments the most.

Why? Though I have been working in the communications industry, it has not been in the field of PR. This formal education and ensuing degree will, I hope, help me become a more effective communicator. 

What? I have learnt that PR can be subtle and in your face, creative and run of the mill, simple and complicated — all at the same time. One just has to find his or her own niche.

I also learnt to sucessfully distinguish and help others as well to distinguish PR from marketing and adverstising. As for defending PR tactics to journalists, I’m getting there. 🙂

I learnt that certain PR tasks are best done alone, like blogs, while some others can just not be done alone, like campaigns. You need to sit and brainstorm (read: break your heads) with other people to be able to crack the briefs.

I learnt that I had quite a lot to say about some topics, like feminisation and political communication, and had to struggle quite a bit to even put together a coherent post, like the one on IPR.

I also learnt that I had the knack to pick out the most difficult or complicated topics/briefs for essays and assignments.

I discovered a liking for technical stuff and for any creativity that called for use of technology. 🙂 Conversely, I discovered that I am a complete no-starter with campaign planning. 😦

When? The last 6 months have been a roller-coaster ride of highs and lows in PR learning and the next few months will see the culmination of my learnings in the in the form of a dissertation. Help!

Who? My tutors, Pam Williams and Michaela O’Brien who were very brave, I think, to take on such a varied bunch of students on this journey. Susan Fearn, who taught us English for PR purposes and who co-taught the disseratation classes. My social media teacher, Matthew Holland, for his patience with the inanest of questions. And to all the guest lecturers for opening a whole new world — Benedict Southworth, Martin Clarke, Adam Garfunkel, Euan Semple and Sean Kidney.

And to all my fellow travellers/classmates on this journey, from whom I learnt so much through hours of informal discussions.

Thank you all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 6:03 pm

    Thanks for the thanks! Best of luck with taking all your fresh ideas back home.

    Cheers,

    Sean Kidney

  2. April 2, 2009 8:27 am

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Sarah

    http://www.clpostingguide.info

  3. April 24, 2009 11:19 am

    very interesting blog and an even intriguing post..would like to know more..Im quite interested in social media myself..

Leave a comment